Friday, October 4, 2019

County Auditors Attend AIC Conference

  More than 550 elected county officials and county staff members from through the state attended the 2019 Association of Indiana Counties' annual conference, held Sept. 30 through Oct. 3 in French Lick in Orange County.

  Indiana County Auditors' Association President Patty Ball, Daviess County Auditor, was the recipient of this year's Outstanding County Auditor of the Year award for her leadership to the ICAA. Many other county auditors were recognized by the AIC for their continuing education efforts through the AIC's Institute for Excellence.

Patty Ball, ICAA President and Daviess County Auditor, is the recipient of the 2019 Outstanding County Auditor of the Year. Presenting the award was AIC President Stacey O'Day, Allen County Assessor.

   The ICAA's Affiliate meeting, held on Tuesday of conference, focused on the growing rise of  cybersecurity threats to county government, including the different ways that hackers access counties' sensitive data. Featured speaker was Tad Stahl, executive director of the Indiana Information Sharing and Analysis Center at the Indiana Office of Technology. To view his presentation, click here.
The French Lick Resort

  Another speaker at the auditors' affiliate meeting was John Mallers of the Indiana Child Support Bureau who gave updates on the Quarterly Incentive Balance (QIB) report and a new auditor health insurance form. The form, which will be used to report health insurance costs associated with counties' IV-D programs, will be due Dec. 31.

  The AIC conference included keynote speaker Bill Stainton, a multiple Emmy awarding winning producer, writer, and performer and an internationally recognized Beatles expert. Participants attended a full day of educational workshops on topics that included jail management, archiving and digitizing county records, rural services, retirement planning, and potential impacts to counties from marijuana legalization. In addition to the AIC Institute graduation and awards banquet, participants met with vendors in the exhibition hall.

John Mallers, Assistant Deputy Director at the Indiana Child Support Bureau, spoke to county auditors about the QIB reports and the Auditors' Health Insurance Form.

 Our featured speaker at the Auditors' Affiliate meeting was Tad Stahl of the Indiana Office of Technology who spoke on the increasing problem that cybersecurity threats pose to county governments.

ICAA officers were recognized by the AIC for continuing education through the AIC's Institute for Excellence. Left to right are: ICAA Treasurer Jennifer Flater of Clay County, incoming ICAA Secretary Christina Sriver of Fulton County, ICAA President-Elect Julie Fox of Marshall County, and ICAA President Patty Ball of Daviess County.

With ICAA President Patty Ball are Vice-President Vicki Urbanik of Porter County (left) and Secretary Debbie Stevens of Warrick County.

Other county auditors and county officials were also recognized by the AIC for their continuing education efforts through the AIC Institute. 
Addressing the Auditors' Affiliate session were (left to right) AIC First Vice President and Owen County Council member Anton Neff, AIC President and Allen County Assessor Stacey O'Day, and NACo's 1st Vice President Gary Moore. 
Also addressing the county auditors at the affiliate meeting were representatives from the State Board of Accounts: (left to right) Debra Gibson, Director of Local Governments, and Ricci Hoffher and Lori Rogers, Directors of Counties.

County auditors at the ICAA's affiliate meeting listen as DLGF Commissioner Wes Bennett gives his remarks.

Monday, July 1, 2019

North-South Regional Meetings

The Indiana County Auditors' Association was pleased to sponsor regional meetings on July 10 and 11 to provide ongoing education for county auditors and staff members.

Our North meeting was held Wednesday, July 10 at the Porter County Expo Center, 215 E. Division Road, Valparaiso, Ind. Our South meeting was held Thursday, July 11 at the Gasthof Amish Village, 6659 E. Gasthof Village Road, Montgomery, IN.

The Association expresses our gratitude to all of our speakers for taking the time to share with us their expertise on matters affecting county auditors.

Here is the agenda, with links to the presentations:

Morning Sessions

911 Funding Issues: Edward Reuter, Executive Director, Statewide 911 Board
  Click here for the 911 presentation

Human Resource Matters -- FLSA and FMLA: Kent Irwin and Addie Rooker of Waggoner, Irwin, Scheele & Associates, Inc.
  Click here for the HR presentation


Afternoon Sessions

Deductions and Exemptions: Daniel Shackle, Chief of Staff and General Counsel, Indiana Department of Local Government Finance
  Click here for the Deductions and Exemptions presentation

Budgets and 1782 Notices: Paige Sansone, Partner, CPA, Baker Tilly Municipal Advisors LLC
  Click here for the 1782 Notice presentation

Changes to the Annual Financial Reports: Lori Rogers, CPA, Counties Director, State Board of Accounts
  Click here for the Annual Financial Reports presentation 

North meeting: Kent Irwin of Waggoner, Irwin, Scheele & Associates addresses the FLSA and FMLA.

North meeting: Paige Sansone, CPA and Parter at bakertilly reviews 1782 Notices.

North meeting: Dan Shackle, DLGF Chief of Staff and General Counsel outlines deductions and exemptions, including new legislation affecting the Over 65 and the Disabled Veterans deductions.

South Meeting: County Auditors and staff members in attendance.

South Meeting: Lori Rogers of the State Board of Accounts reviews changes to the Annual Financial Report.
South Meeting: Ed Reuter, Executive Director of the E911 Statewide Board, outlines 911 funding issues.